top of page

Braving Big Bend: Hitting the Wall

This is a tale of adventure, misadventure, and a whole lot of adrenaline-induced fun. I visited Texas for the first time in March 2017. Prepared with wildly incorrect stereotypes, a brand new camera, and a few key local phrases ("bless yer heart"), I ventured into the Lone Star State. In case you missed it: Day 1

Our second day in Big Bend National Park was spent hiking the Boot Canyon and South Rim Trail. We parked the truck at the Chisos Mountain Lodge and filled up as many water bottles at the fountain as we could carry for our 7-hour hike. Daniel hauled most of the water, Michael carried my backpack full of snacks, and I held on to my camera and sanity for dear life.

Most of my memories about this day have been suppressed by my brain. Words that I would use to describe it include, but are not limited to: strenuous, painful, and daunting. Despite being warned by Daniel in advance to "get in shape" for hikes, I had greatly underestimated just how taxing it would be. The sun beat down unforgivingly as I trudged along the rocky, steep paths, regretting not training harder for it. We took numerous breaks (unwanted by me as I knew that once I sat down I wouldn't want to get back up) along the way, got some great photos, and sang songs from the Titanic movie loudly.

 

Big Bend Basics: The South Rim Trail goes up about 2,000 ft (610 m) in elevation and is around 14 miles (23 km) both ways. (National Park Service)

 

A cicada about the size of my palm

A park ranger bringing down... human waste (?) on horseback

Unfazed by the deathly drop

Desert vegetation is so beautiful when your legs aren't on fire

The Texan flag proudly displayed

More mountain views

A few feet from the viewpoint/end of our hike, my mind had given up on my body. My legs and thighs felt numb from the thousands of steps I had already taken. My heart and lungs had been pushing their limits to keep me alive. Although the pain was bearable, I found that I couldn't keep going. The physical and mental fatigue of the climb had drained my will to continue. Negativity clouded my thoughts and I was completely overwhelmed just thinking about the long return trip. Slowly I lagged behind my companions and broke down on a rock.

I had "hit the wall", a common condition that affects endurance activities. I didn't know this at the time and was confused as to why I was acting this way. My symptoms could be explained by my empty glycogen stores; I had basically run out of fuel as I was burning more calories than I was eating. I'd eaten a small breakfast before the hike, and the exercise took away my appetite so that I didn't eat enough during it either.

Thankfully my friends didn't give up on me and I made it to our destination (albeit not with the best attitude). The cliffs we stood on overlooked an endless plain rippled with smaller mountains, fading into the distance and blending into the sky. It felt like we were in the setting for the series "Land Before Time".

Vistas at the end of our hike before we turned around to head back

I can't say that the way back was easier for me, but I was very impressed by Daniel's ability to talk us into better moods. The first thing we did when we finished the trail was to eat ice cold mango popsicles from the village camp store, relieved that the hike was complete.

What I learned from this experience:

1. Hitting the wall can be avoided by getting enough energy both before + during the hike and taking breaks.

2. I would probably be the first to die in any kind of apocalypse.

References:

http://www.runnersworld.com/running-tips/how-to-avoid-hitting-the-wall-while-running

https://www.nps.gov/bibe/planyourvisit/mountain_hikes.htm

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon

MORE 

OMNIVORD

HERE

JOYCE CHANG

Dietitian. Breakfast lover. GIF enthusiast. Accidental adventurer. Excited that you're here to read, eat, and explore with me!

HUNGRY?
READ MORE
ARCHIVE
bottom of page